Memoirs of an Addicted Brain: A Neuroscientist Examines his Former Life on Drugs

October 15, 2019 - Comment

A neuroscientist’s unique and fascinating journey into his own addiction–for readers of Oliver Sacks and Andrew Solomon Marc Lewis’s relationship with drugs began in a New England boarding school where, as a bullied and homesick fifteen-year-old, he made brief escapes from reality by way of cough medicine, alcohol, and marijuana. In Berkeley, California, in its

Buy Now! $10.37Amazon.com Price
(as of April 8, 2020 1:52 am GMT+0000 - Details)

A neuroscientist’s unique and fascinating journey into his own addiction–for readers of Oliver Sacks and Andrew Solomon

Marc Lewis’s relationship with drugs began in a New England boarding school where, as a bullied and homesick fifteen-year-old, he made brief escapes from reality by way of cough medicine, alcohol, and marijuana. In Berkeley, California, in its hippie heyday, he found methamphetamine and LSD and heroin; he sniffed nitrous oxide in Malaysia; and frequented Calcutta’s opium dens. Ultimately, though, his journey took him where it takes most addicts: into a life of desperation, deception, and crime.

But unlike most addicts, Lewis recovered to become a developmental psychologist and researcher in neuroscience. In Memoirs of an Addicted Brain, he applies his professional expertise to a study of his former self, using the story of his own journey through addiction to tell the universal story of addictions of every kind.

Comments

Write a comment

*